• Register
  • Help

Topic: New DAW: bad timing?

New DAW: bad timing?

Hi fellow musicians,
    although I am no pro, more of a home recording singer/songwriter, I'd love to get some advice on this:

I want to build myself a new daw for Cubase SL3 and Halion 3
    (ie. VST instruments and effects + sample libraries streaming)

shall I go for

1 what's known to work both yesterday and TODAY (for example socket 478 P4 + an intel chipset based motherboard)

2 a more futureproof setup, that may work today and prolly tomorrow (for example AMD64 socket 939 + an xx chipset based motherboard)

3 shall I wait a month or two? (new AMD64 stepping, fixing the dual channel memory issue, better motherboard revisions, maybe better prices)

maybe I'm a bit too cautious, or my timing is unlucky. Last time I upgraded, I think I was one of the last ones to buy a PIII, which was a bit underpowered comparing to the first P4 or Athlon XP rigs people was getting, I consciously chose stability rather then longevity or "bang for the bucks" ratio.
    This old PIII 1,13 Ghz has served me well in the last three years, eventually hitting the wall now that I started appreciating cpu-hungry VST's and the joys of sample libraries.

Before I started making some serious research I thought I'd go with route 1, p4 3,0 Ghz or so, Asus mobo, 1 GB ram, amen, then I learned that the P4 Prescotts have heat (which also can equate to noise) issues, and that this new AMD64 socket 939 is the name of the game. Dual processors are a few months ahead and Windows XP 64-bit will be released before summer

other things that confuse me:

1 the socket 478 is an end of life platform. Socket 775: not an option, tricky to mount, no AGP, don't like the idea.

2 I'm a sucker for this new 64-bit thing to come, but when will I really need it?