• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: Instant Gratification

Share/Bookmark

Instant Gratification

Hello, I wanted to post a new philosophical topic for discussion.

I've been a little occupied by this thought lately and I wanted to get some feedback.

I'm fairly new to these high quality samples. Just two months ago I was using AO strings and Roland Brass and Reason ww and perc. Then I heard a demo of EWQLSO and jumped on those as soon as I could. Back in the day when I did a filmscore I would have to wait until the recording session to hear my music fully produced. I did a string quartet and it took me 3 years to get a live performance. Only then did I get a chance to fully enjoy the piece.

My question is this: Do you think that the instant gratification of hearing your music being realized right before your ears in stunning quality and in some cases 24 bit surround robs us of the anticipation of the unknown of what's going to happen at a session, a mix or a live performance?

Re: Instant Gratification

Nope, not at all. In college, very recently, I was always turning in 2 versions of all my composition projects. The first was my sample mockup, the second was the live recording I'd do with student performers. Especially with wind trios and quintet stuff, using VSL ww's I was able to get some surprisngly realistic versions of the work. Without fail tho - at the live recording, I was ALWAYS pleasantly surprised by the performer's alternative interpretations of phrasing, note transitions, etc. Basically, they are artists putting their own spin on the ideas I've put down on paper. At least on 3 projects I went back and made modifications to my own work, because I wanted to clarify some of the really good things they'd bring to the table, and ensure that if the music were to be performed again, those things would be done in just such a way every time.