• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Volume problem

Share/Bookmark

Volume problem

I'm a GPO beginner, and have encountered a difficulty. Using the default volume levels for each of the different sounds gives a good balance between the instruments, but the overall volume of the piece is so low I can barely hear it. Is there any way I can increase the master volume? If it matters, I am using Finale 2005 and Sonar 4.

Re: Volume problem

Junior,

GPO is not a library you can use successfully without reading the manual and other documentation (including the GPO Update documentation) to become familiar with GPO conventions. This is because GPO parts company with standard MIDI conventions in many ways. One of the main departures concerns the use of the mod wheel. There are two types of instruments in GPO: Percussive and Expressive. Percussive instruments (like piano) use the standard velocity=volume. Expressive instruments (like winds and strings) use the mod wheel (cc#1) to control volume/timbre. When used as designed, the mod wheel data will be almost constantly present in a track shaping the dynamic changes to an instrument. It is not a "set and forget" controller but, rather, the mod wheel data must be present in the same way that air must be blown through a wind instrument to initiate and sustain sound.

Anyway, the short answer to your question is: Bring up the mod wheel data.

Tom

Tom, I've got a small problem. I'm presently using my Korg Trinity as a controller for GPO but it has a joystick instead of a modwheel and it is, of course, spring loaded so that whenever I need to hit a keyswitch I have to turn loose of it and the volume goes way down. Is there any way to remap the modwheel controller to a foot volume/expression pedal such as the exp-2 that I have? If so, how? I'm not real great at all this so direct step-by-step would be very appreciated.

Thanks,
    Tom

Junior,