• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Advice regarding do it yourself guitar samples

Share/Bookmark

Advice regarding do it yourself guitar samples

Hereís the story: I have exhausted my equipment budget for the time being without having upgraded my guitar sounds. But I think that I have versions of everything I need to create my own samples. (guitar, preamp/compressor, DAW, sampler, DAC, etc.) So partly in order to improve sound quality (but also to have fun and learn a bit more about sampling) Iíve decided to attempt to construct guitar samples that are better (or at least more to my taste) than what I have now (the guitars included in the Edriol VSC GM sounds). Iíve done a bit of recording and know enough about mixing and mastering to have some inkling of how much I donít know. As far as sampling goes, Iíve successfully imported and used drum samples and that is about it. This is my first attempt to record samples. I intend to get the best samples that I can with a reasonable amount of effort and my current equipment.

The main equipment for the project consists of a Godin Xsta midi-guitar, Sonar 3 Producer Edition, Vsampler, a TubePac preamp/compressor, a laptop (a P4 and 1 gigabyte of RAM), and an Echo Indigo io card.

Currently my plan is to directly connect the guitar (rather than mike an amp) and to use Sonar to record the samples. I know that it is possible to route the signal through the preamp/compressor but I donít know if this is necessary or desirable. I plan to do a series of projects: a one sample wonder and a multiple sample (perhaps octaves and fifths) project for various colorations. If the load on the cpu is light enough I might consider doing a one sample per note project. I donít plan to worry about various articulations, if I want a lot of articulations Iíll record direct rather than through midi.