• Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Topic: PC goes in today.

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Senior Member Styxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    11,075

    PC goes in today.

    Me PC goes in for upgrade today for Ram, Ham, and Lamb, and get rid of the Spam that I don't need running in the background. New sound card on it's way and a voice activated editing system installed for all my DAW software. The voice is female like the one on the old Star Trek series. I'll be able to tell which fader to move and where, what instruments I want loaded into what track, save, load, start, stop, and if you believe me on this voice activated jive cosmic debris....I have a bridge in SanFransiskisks for sale!
    So, to make a short story longer, I may be down for a while but using this high tech HP Vectra VL series A 5/150 for Internet and to further hobnob and converse with my fellow Wizards.
    "Come back! Come back!"
    "I can't, I don't know how it works!"
    "Good bye! Good bye!"

    So, wish me luckness monster that this PC will actually be useful. If not then, Dude, I'm getting a Dell.
    Styxx

  2. #2

    Re: PC goes in today.

    About this bridge in San Fran, what's the asking price? Let's make a deal.

    Good luck with the PC buddy. Its always a pain messing with computers. I've got my fingers crossed for ya and if you need a hand, you know where I am.

  3. #3

    Re: PC goes in today.

    Hey Styxx,

    Before you go check your pm box. There might just be something of interest in there for you.

    Karl

  4. #4

    Smile Re: PC goes in today.

    Best of luck with the upgrade/fixing/spamming Styxx!

    You are getting pretty technically savvy for an old geezer!

    <non-patronizing mode on> The question for you now is do you have a backup strategy for your computer? If not, you really, really, really, really need to do so! You make too much great music to lose it to the likes of a virus or hard disk crash. <non-patronizing mode off>

    BTW, how is the Wizard of Oz coming along? I haven't seen anything posted about it for awhile...

    -Kevin
    We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams …
    24" 2.4 Ghz iMac, OSX 10.4.10, MOTU 828 MKII, 2 Glyph 250 Gig external drives, Logic 9, Finale 2008 GPO, JABB, Strad, Gro, Reason 4, EWQL Storm Drum, Adrenaline, Symphonic Choirs, SO Gold,All Arturia Synths, Many NI Synths, Spectrasonics Synths, KH Strings, VEPro on a Windows 7 4x 2.8 Ghz 12 gig of RAM

  5. #5
    Senior Member Styxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    11,075

    Unhappy Re: PC goes in today.

    Everything came back as expected except I am trying to get the hang of this dual monitor shtick! The purpose was to be able to use one monitor for editing windows and the other for the main track window or say Cubase. How is this done? When I open the piano roll I can't move it to the other monitor without having to move everything! What don't I understand here? Concept is simple but the dang blasted thang aint woiking the way I expected!
    Oh woe is me. Worra worra worra me. Life is like a premature ------------. It's all over before you get started.
    Styxx

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Baltimore , MD
    Posts
    137

    Re: PC goes in today.

    With Nuendo I had to drag the right end of the program window to the right monitor for me to be able to work on both screens .

    Do you have you system set up to see both as one big screen ?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Styxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    11,075

    Thumbs up Re: PC goes in today.

    Quote Originally Posted by amb
    With Nuendo I had to drag the right end of the program window to the right monitor for me to be able to work on both screens .

    Do you have you system set up to see both as one big screen ?
    Thanks much for the info and yes I finally found out that's exactly what I needed to do. It works for Cubase but not in Cakewalk HS or Acid. Seems as if there is no grabbing the right side of either of those aps. So, I use Cubase Se mostly so this is great! New ram installed I am up to 2 gigs, another HD and moving my music file to it and a new sound card on the way! I feel like I need to spread my wings and fly! Feels good to be feeling good again. Just have to get use to the curser now I'm loosing it all the time.
    Thanks again.
    Styxx

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Baltimore , MD
    Posts
    137

    Re: PC goes in today.

    Glad it is working out . I hope the new gear sparks off your most creative spell ever !

    I am not real experienced with Cakewalk or ACID so I can offer no help there .

  9. #9
    Senior Member Styxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    11,075

    Smile Re: PC goes in today.

    From what I've read,
    "lyricist E. Y. Harburg was more concerned with how his words fit together and rhymed than that they were all real words and used properly! There are two examples of lyrics he made up for the songs, both sung by the Scarecrow. "Ding-a-derry" is something good, but I have no idea how clever a gizzard is. (I doubt that this is the same gizzard that is a part of a bird's digestive system!)"
    From the official Wizard of Oz website.

    I didn't think it was a word. It's not even in the English Language dictionary. I guess it was easier to sing than, "Life would be a bowl of cherries"?

    As far as my PC goes, I can't wait to get the new sound card! THIS CREATIVE SOUNDBASTARD AUDIGY2 STINKS!
    Styxx

Go Back to forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •