• Register
  • Help

Topic: How to prevent looping? (for sustained notes)

Share/Bookmark

How to prevent looping? (for sustained notes)

I'm just learning GPO. Using the standalone player (and I would imagine as a VI also), when I hold a note down (for example, using a violin), I can hear the note looping over and over.

How can we get a longer sustained note without the looping sound (I guess it's the sample retriggering)? Is there a simple way? A trick?

Suggestions from experienced orchestrators would be great!
    Thanks.

David

Re: How to prevent looping? (for sustained notes)

Quote Originally Posted by David Collett
    I'm just learning GPO. Using the standalone player (and I would imagine as a VI also), when I hold a note down (for example, using a violin), I can hear the note looping over and over.

How can we get a longer sustained note without the looping sound (I guess it's the sample retriggering)? Is there a simple way? A trick?

Suggestions from experienced orchestrators would be great!
    Thanks.

David
    I don't really think there is a way to get rid of the looping - that is simply how the sample is. You would have to record very long sample notes (in the manner of VSL) that would not need looping to avoid this.

In a thick orchestration, with a good reverb applied the loop point will be somewhat masked, but I doubt much can be done for exposed notes... just write very engrossing music so the listener is too entranced to notice.

David,