• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Need Opinions On A Computer To Use GS With

Share/Bookmark

Exclamation Need Opinions On A Computer To Use GS With

Hi there... I'm a musician ready to leave the soundfont world and jump into the GigaStudio world as I've heard nothing but great things about it. I'm going to buy a new computer for all my musical needs and I want to make sure the one I have in mind is up for the GS challenge. Here are all the specs...

# Chaintech V915P Intel Socket 775 ATX Motherboard
    # Intel Pentium 4 540 3.2Ghz Processor
    # Intel Socket 775 CPU Cooling Fan
    # Ultra 512MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory
    # PowerUp 400-Watt Power Supply

It's a barebones system. If you would like to see the website where it's listed for more info, the address is: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...275&CatId=1643

I'd be putting a Creative SoundBlaster Audigy Platinum in it for the sound card and two Maxtor hard drives. I have yet to pick them out so I can't tell you the specs on them. Also, an HP CD-RW will be going in it. That's all I can think of that is relevant.

Your opinions would really help me out as I desperately want to get back to writing/recording soon. Please keep in mind that I'm not a rich man and only have about $900 to spend. Half of it on GS. I'm a poor musician :-)

Thank you in advance.

Re: Need Opinions On A Computer To Use GS With

I love GigaStudio 3, but if you are a "poor musician" you should also consider the cost of sample libraries to use with GigaStudio.

Also, does the Audigy have GigaStudio audio drivers (GSIF or GSIF-2)?

Quote Originally Posted by Martin Hines
    I love GigaStudio 3, but if you are a "poor musician" you should also consider the cost of sample libraries to use with GigaStudio.

Also, does the Audigy have GigaStudio audio drivers (GSIF or GSIF-2)?