• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: ASCAP vs BMI (opinions)

ASCAP vs BMI (opinions)

I know PAM (ASCAP) and Doreen (BMI) and was wondering in everyone's opinion, the strengths and weakness of both.

I am a composer and singer songwriter and have been affiliated with one of them and looking just for some feedback. Of particular interest is setting up a publishing company.

Thanks again.

Re: ASCAP vs BMI (opinions)

ASCAP will charge you annual fees, but other than that, I don't think it really matters.

They both try to pay roughly the same amounts for equivalent usages, although from time to time, some usages will favor one society over the other. One example would be that a few years ago, a pair of cowriters I know wrote music for "Psychic Hotline" infommercials. The BMI guy made about quadruple what the ASCAP guy made. This is far and away the most extreme difference I've ever seen. I've seen other instances where an ASCAP guy comes out on top.

For the most part, though, I've seen nearly identical payments when there are co-writers from the two societies. Since they both collect equivalent amounts, it's really a crapshoot as to whether you'll fare better with one over the other.

I'd decide based on who you like better, Pam or Doreen. Knowing them could be a pretty big deal. In my case, ASCAP screws up about a third of all my shows for the dopiest of reasons. The member service bozos in the New York ASCAP office can rarely solve even the most obvious of problems

It took me years to find my own ASCAP rep who knows what she's doing and solves problems during the first phone call.

By the way, ask Doreen if she really has to appear in EVERY picture taken at BMI events.

- Mike Greene (ASCAP)

Er, so the ASCAP site's info is incorrect? It said there are no member dues.

Quote Originally Posted by zircon_st
    Er, so the ASCAP site's info is incorrect? It said there are no member dues.