• Register
  • Help

Topic: What to charge? Please help.

Share/Bookmark

Question What to charge? Please help.

OK, I have been doing local commercials on the side for the past 6 months or so. I am a full time HVAC tech by day and composer by night. Word is getting around locally that I do decent work (not bragging I swear) and now a semi big production company is offering me a chance to rescore a few scenes of a (more than likely) direct to video release. They have a branch in LA but the owner works from the branch right here in central Illinois about 45 miles from my home town. He sent a DVD by mail today and it will arrive probably Thuirsday. The problem is that if he likes what I come up with for the not-so-satisfying parts, I have no idea what to charge. The commercials that I have done have all been local and I have been getting about $200-$250 for a 30 second spot. That is my only reference. If he really likes my work and wants to offer me a whole film next, I will need enough to replace my current salary (which is not super big, maybe $32,000) Can anyone tell me what I might or should charge? How much time should I bid for completion per minute of music needed? Any help would be very appreciated. Kays? I bet you could steer me one way or the other here. Please?

Eric

Re: What to charge? Please help.

Eh? What? Why me? Have I become the go to guy for rates?

First of all, I'd like to know....what is an HVAC Tech?

Secondly....why do you need to quit your job to do this film? I mean, not to sound cliche here....but don't quit your day job kid (at least not yet).