• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Opus 1 or Eastwest Gold??

Question Opus 1 or Eastwest Gold??

Hi there,

I need help! Will i be happy with Opus 1 or Eastwest Gold?

I know ideally i could use them both, but $$. step at a time!

I am a producer who wants to inverst in a library for film and other projects such as pop/adult contemorary albums etc. I have read a lot stuff about VSL being incedible but not necissarily dynamic or very "hollywood" like the eastwest is.

My priority is film music moreso than pop/rock production
    My primary need with the library is flexibility
    My primary orcherstral family is Strings. (used most)

Opus 1 or Gold? (looked into SI and Garritan, but not interested)

Re: Opus 1 or Eastwest Gold??

a) What else do you have?
    b) When you say film scoring - are we talking Epic Lord of the rings kind, smaller indifilm kind of music (less instruments,many solo pasages etc)

Post Re: Opus 1 or Eastwest Gold??

I'm currently using non orchestral softsynths and programs like Atmosphere, Stylus, Sampletank, Absynth etc with keyboard stuff ocassionally thrown in from my Roland XV88. And i'm often paying a violinist to come and play over string lines I’ve play in through Atmosphere "hollywood strings" patch. This is when doing tracks on peoples albums etc.

I would like to fuse (often full) orchestrations with electronic stuff more often than writing for intimate exposed sections. I do want the strings to sound credible in all dynamics though! (appreciating much has to do with programming skills). Strings are my priority.

Short answer is... i need a flexible library that sounds 'film'. Mainstream film.

I know this sounds vague, but i guess flexibility is vague!

tough one, as a lot of it is a subjective preference in sound. I have both the above liberaries, and what makes it hard is that none of them alone would suit me completely.