• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Fast and Furious played by EWQLSO

Share/Bookmark

Fast and Furious played by EWQLSO

I would like a few comments on this (especially constructive criticism is appreciated since i am still learning).

http://www.jsod.de/~marve/fast_and_furious.mp3 (5.3MB)

I'm somewhat unsatisfied with the brass in the end and the overall percussion for some reason, but i dont know what i dont like about it...

Maybe some of the real pros here can figure it out

Oh, and yes, composition by me.

Cubase File avail. on request...

Re: Fast and Furious played by EWQLSO

Good piece. The main theme is a nice bouncy one. And you implement some nice counter-lines on its recap. That big tutti section with the strings sounds a little dense and using block chords on sampled strings really reveals their synthy sonorities. For that big section, perhaps fill out the harmonies with some winds or horns (they're great for that).

That adagietto middle section with the strings would benefit from some more counterpoint in the middle section, perhaps a viola arpeggiation around the harmony or even celli. It would give it some more flow but this is just a personal suggestion- there's nothing wrong with the way it is since it does contrast your A section.

Are you using Gold or Platinum? The spiccato violin patch you use sounds too rich for Silver. Because you repeat you theme quite a bit, perhaps changing the sample from the short spiccato to a martele up/down patch or even double it up the octave with a flute or in unison with an oboe or down the octave with a bassoon. Because the line is long but is constructed with similar intervals it would be good to apply some timbral variety each time it's recapitulated.

Other than that, nice classical sounding piece!

Quote Originally Posted by dcoscina