• Register
  • Help

Topic: To Jon F, and others.

Share/Bookmark

To Jon F, and others.

This is directed to Jon Fairhurst, since I know that you have knowledge about Sibelius and GS3, and anyone else that could possibly help. Sorry for the following long post...

I have a dilemma, have been coming here for quite a while for someone who hasn't purchased much lately, and I have a couple more questions. I'll try to ask it and make some statements that don't answer my own questions.

I am a composer. My main interest is in giving customers my sheet music to be played at occasions, local symphony, etc. Obviously, everyone in the world doesn't read music, so I like to give them an approximation of what their piece will sound like when it's played by their organist, etc. I am very leary about giving them CDs using the sounds of soundfonts. As most of the sounds are quite horrible. Now, I do realize that Gigastudio and GPO aren't magic, and a person with patience can make a soundfont sound almost decent (maybe), but I am also a realist and I realize the difference in quality between soundfonts and samples. I don't want to insult anyone by discounting their abilities to make a great product sound even better.

So, with that, I would like to take two things out of the equation here. Prices and learning curves. I am buying an engagement ring soon and am a poor bastard, and by the time I purchase these products, there may be something else out. But for now, I only want to think about the product itself. I don't want to consider the cost or the learning curve of either. Also, please assume that I know that notation programs are notation programs, samplers are samplers, and they are different tools. Also, please assume that I am not worried about the computer hardware or stability of either. Also, please assume that I will not switch from using Sibelius. I am also aware that I would probably be using something else for mixdown, etc.