• Register
  • Help

Topic: OT: ASCAP vs. BMI and Self-Publishing

OT: ASCAP vs. BMI and Self-Publishing

Hi everyone,

Sorry about the OT. I am a US based composer scoring my first feature for $$ and I think it is high time I choose a PRO.

The film happens to be Italian and will be distributed first in Italy (national TV) and hopefully later in South America. This may be a repeat deal in the sense that there are at least 4-5 more of these films in the pipeline (fingers and all other extremities crossed)

So I guess my first question is which PRO would work best in collecting fees from the foreign correspondent (in this case, SIAE)? Anybody know how it works or has experience scoring for foreign films?

Second, would you recommend forming your own publishing company or can that wait until you have a volume of work that justifies the extra costs/fees?

Any suggestions would be much apppreciated!

Re: OT: ASCAP vs. BMI and Self-Publishing

ASCAP works fine for me for domestic and foreign royalties. Also, I don't think opening a publishing company under ASCAP costs anything.

BMI, ASCAP, and SESAC all collect foreign royalties and pass them along to you. Most often, a production will want to keep the publishing. You still get to keep the writers side. If you keep the pub it's usually negotiated in the original deal that that is the case. Get it in your contract so there's no dispute further down the line.