• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Speaking of Loops....

Share/Bookmark

Speaking of Loops....

I know this belongs in the Virtual instrument section but since people don't seem to visit it that often I'll put it here.

Has anybody used these three things I'd like a comparison between Reason, Live and Stylus RMX for producing rhythm tracks using loops.

Cheers,

Jose

Re: Speaking of Loops....

Jose,

You, loops? noooooooo

Anyway, I can't compare as I only own REASON I have to say I do like it for beat or loop making. I think the audio quality is so so. I usually REWIRE it to LOGIC and use the plugs for sweeting or I bounce out of reason. Though I recently sold a spot for a cable tv and I had done all the mixing in reason.
    The demos for reason are very good and give you and idea of what you can do if you are a super programmer. I'm not a super programmer, but I have to admit that automating in REASON is dead simple. You can have a device, like a delay, and you can add it to a track and record a sequence on it just like any other instrument, and when you replay the take-there's your automated device moving just like you made it too. VERY simple AND fun.
    The REX player is straight forward and there a lot of user demos and files.
    REASON is my answer for drum tracks and loops (along with NI Battery). I think in the next 6 months, I would like to get RMX so that I can play with the REX loops out of reason.

Sincerely,

Jonathan

Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyP
    Jose,

You, loops? noooooooo
    LOL! I thought the same thing!

If you want to be a lazy MF like me, get Stylus RMX. It's emphasis is using or modifying loops they already made. You can roll your own, but then you're just using your sequencer, which doeasn't seem to be what you're after. Half of the music I did for "Unexplained Mysteries" would be a patch from Atmosphere with a loop(s) from Stylus (preRMX) underneath. Fast and easy!