• Register
  • Help

Topic: De-essing dilemma (a little OT)

Share/Bookmark

De-essing dilemma (a little OT)

I posted this in the Cubase forum, but I know there's lot of expertise here.

I am using SX’s desseing plug to try to fix a vocal that has too much “sssssss”. I usually do not do vocals in my project studio, so I have very little experience in this area.

When I get the eq sounding nice with just the right amount of crispness, the ‘sssss’ start sounding like ripping silk. When I apply the desser to get rid of it, the singer sounds like he’s got a bad cold or a speech impediment.

Are there better desser’s? I downloaded a free one with about the same results. Re-recording is not an option. Any ideas?

SX 3.0.2, studio projects C1 Mic.

(I'm using Bardstown The Bass the The Bosendorfer, and well as various other samples...to make this thread on-topic)

Re: De-essing dilemma (a little OT)

I have had ok results with the waves Rdesser - but I personally think that the advent of the DAW has made dessers a bit redundant. It really doesn't take too long to manually draw in volume automation on the essess and the results are vastly better than using a plug. If your automation is unresponsive then simply hardwrite it as an offline process and import that...

Waves does have a pretty good de-esser. Keep in mind that de-essers only remove the sibilance, the 4,5 to 5,5k area. Many times if the "s" is sung or spoken too loud or too close to the mic it will distort, making the "s" sound crappy but not in the sibilance region. The distorted "s" is a really hard thing to remove because that distorted characteristic can range from 4 or 500 Hz all the way to 2,500.