• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: My TCM Contest Composition

Share/Bookmark

My TCM Contest Composition

This is my first time entering the Turner Classic Movies Young Film Composers Contest this year, being that I just turned 18.

I tried for two things when composing this, make it sound somewhat more "traditional/old" and well frankly, compose better than I've ever done.

So if you'd like tell me what you think, I'm mainly looking for composition advice, cause I already know that my sequencing is a little sloppy(I was short on time near the end)

Any Help is greatly apprectiated!

Here are the links

Music only http://www.evangamble.com/music/Scuddys_Scurry.mp3

Movie and Music http://www.evangamble.com/music/Scuddys_Scurry.mov

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar

Re: My TCM Contest Composition

Hi Evan,

In short, I would peel most of this away, and have another go. The musical tone does not currently work with the scene.

I think it is too apocalyptic and dark for the piece, fundamentally. It sounds more like a space adventure than what I am seeing on screen. That is what I would comment before anything else, and then I would address the actual way the music is relating to the picture on a shot by shot basis.

Tonally, examine where you are in the action, and try to detach the musical motion so much from the specific action on screen and to the human stakes in the story. What is happening? Everybody has an emotional stake here, and you have to create music which encompasses them. What are the motives of the pursued? To get away. What are the motives of the cops? To catch the guy. What is the motive of the other people in the scene? To avoid being hurt or killed in the melee.