• Register
  • Help

Topic: How to use Virtual Instruments in dual 1gig successfully?

Share/Bookmark

How to use Virtual Instruments in dual 1gig successfully?

hi I am new to VI's ,I am using dp4.52 on a dual 1gig w/1.5 gig of ram(10.38) system is hitting the wall(kontakt,altered states,hard corebass,ewqlso>gold,perc advent2,sampltank2xl,vapor etc...).............
    My question how do people run VI's successfully in a system like this?do most people record to hard disk and close then open another?do the VI's drain system resources if they are open and not actually engaged?I realize g4 is a bit long in the tooth but I am trying to hold off on a G5 until next generation comes in summer/fall.any tips on how people are using VI's successfully in an older system will be appreciated
    thanks KG

Re: How to use Virtual Instruments in dual 1gig successfully?

I've got a dual 1.25, so I'm not far behind you! And it's crashing a LOT on one composition that has multiple RMX Groove tracks. But I'm pushing it hard. And yes, that is exactly the way I normally work - record the part, get the VSTi out of the workspace although I usually just turn it off until I know all the VSi tracks are correct and final - then I will remove the plug.

I also mix to final in real time on a second computer, depending on the state of the tune-if I need a reference and the tracks are not rendered, I mix to this machine, which is also the one I burn on. Sometimes I just Bounce to Disk (and sometimes (rarely) that crashes, even with full-boat RAM and 40G or more free on the data disk.) If the bounce fails, then it's back to the real-time record audio on computer 2. The connection is digital, so there's no loss. The 2nd box is a cheap PC with a Gina card. It never runs more than 4 tracks, so a low-end solution works as well as the high-priced spread.