• Register
  • Help

Topic: Need help on percussion/drum and "edgy" libraries

Need help on percussion/drum and "edgy" libraries

It's not set in stone yet, but it looks like I'm landing a documentary TV show (full season), which deals with many elements of military, technology, etc. I immediately knew what type of sound I would be wanting. The director then suggested the same terms. My problem is, the samples I currently have cater to orchestra mostly. I have been looking for some fresh, cutting edge drum samples/loops that can give a certain punch. I'm mainly thinking "electronica", but acoustic samples would be great too.

Some examples would be Crystal Method or a similar sound to John Powell's Bourne Identity score. Keep in mind, I would also like to be able to program my own loops and sounds from scratch. I am a percussionist and drummer at heart (over 10 years), and this is an area I'm nitpicky in. I don't like being limited to JUST loops necessarily. I'm also trying to keep a budget fairly light if possible. I haven't even negotiated pricing for this project yet, but I still keep it in mind.

Again, I'm looking for a fresh sound.

Sample libraries I've checked out and considered:

Percussive Adventures 2

I'm also looking for any other hot instruments like synth beds, leads, bass, edgy guitars, etc. Hardcore stuff. Any recommendations would be most helpful!

Jared Hudson

Cannibal Island, Loleta, California

Re: Need help on percussion/drum and "edgy" libraries

Stylus RMX might be another one to consider.
    Dane Hawkes DiAnda
    C. I. Studios

Hi Jared,