• Register
  • Help

Topic: Sampler for Cubase... Should I stay with Kontakt?

Share/Bookmark

Sampler for Cubase... Should I stay with Kontakt?

Hi,

A new band member recently let me check out his studio. He runs Cubase SX2 and Halion 2. I was impressed enough with Cubase to warrant this question...

As a Sonar/Kontakt user, if I switch to Cubase (3.0 I believe is the latest), should I migrate over to Halion as well? I guess VST adaptability is my main concern. Also, if there's an noticeable increase in sample load times, that would be cool!

Thanks,
    Jon

(BTW, my sample libraries each contain Halion and Kontakt versions so that shouldn't be a problem)

Re: Sampler for Cubase... Should I stay with Kontakt?

No you can stay with Kontakt.

Cool Re: Sampler for Cubase... Should I stay with Kontakt?

I have been using both Steinberg products for about 15 months (initially HALion2). There seems to be no special integration of the HALion3 VST with Cubase SX[2] that you might expect since both products come from parent Steinberg. At this point, though, I am teetering on the notion of upgrading my Kontakt Player 1.5x (which came with the Garritan Personal Orcehstra) to FULL Kontakt 2 (and all that included VSL and other content) for NI's price of $339.

Some folks have said that there's no need to have TWO full samplers, but I figure that being able to compare the features in each may keep me on my toes and perhaps utilize features in one of the other than have some edge.

i hope this helps ... KevinKauai

I really like both samplers - I have HALion 3.1 and Kontakt 1.5.3. They, to a certain degree, put different emphasis on things. Right now, I'd say that HALion's streaming engine is more efficient, with higher voice counts and lower pre-loads (more samples for more complex instruments) with Kontakt having more intelligent looping file support and more complex dynamic switching inside of instruments - and Kontakt 2 is supposed to be a knockout.