• Register
  • Help

Topic: up for the downstroke (slightly elliptical robin)

Share/Bookmark

up for the downstroke (slightly elliptical robin)

anyone noticed that an up-bow/down/bow round-robin setup will play the wrong way around when the last not triggered was the one you want playback to start on? eg. load the VGS cellos and sequence a series of repeated notes on the alternating patch. If you rewind after an odd number of notes has played back, your next playback begins on the upstroke. What to do? This doesn't bother me for snare drum l/r, or faux-randomization of alternate samples, but it's a must fix for strings.

Belbin

ps. Giga=amazing. Cant sleep....

Re: up for the downstroke (slightly elliptical robin)

I'm a newbie to giga, and I don't know much about the included VSL bundle, but with GPO there is an up/down bow keyswitch. Maybe you can manually control the bowstroke.
    Since I'm a strings player I must digress:
    Not all music goes upbow downbow upbow downbow. In fact, almost no music is that simple! (unless it's beginner stuff or something) So when you score for strings, picture the bow and how it moves and breathes with the music. PLEASE don't do up-down-up-down-up-down. It's very boring.

My $201,547,561,247.02 worth.

-Chris

More keyswitches!!! Aarrggh!! Got too many of those flyin' around already.
    I guess all that means is that one more can't hurt. They're better than program changes, but not so fun when you don't have a midi keyboard. My kingdom for a nice modwheel.

Quote Originally Posted by belbin
    More keyswitches!!! Aarrggh!! Got too many of those flyin' around already.