• Register
  • Help

Topic: .....completely Baffled!!!

Share/Bookmark

.....completely Baffled!!!

Hello

I'm new here.. I Just bought the GPO last week.. The quality of samples sound terrific from the demo song postings, but my problem is that I'm having difficulties setting things up properly.

I'm just beginning to incorporate VSTi's into my arrangements. Until now I've always relied on my external synth sound modules for the voice samples, ever since the days using Atari 1024 Notator, Cubase VST 32, and now finally Cubase SX.

My system worked perfectly until using VSTI's….

I'm reading about other members using "tons" of samples overlapping in slight variations to give it that large orchestral sound. But when I try to load more than a 2-3 voices, I'm getting all these pops, crackles…and outright cutting-out!

I'm keeping everything "dry"
    The Auto convert to 32 bit is unchecked
    I'm using no ambience/Reverb at all.

Is this a system/sound card/ buffer set up issue, or merely my inefficient working method? Ie: Are people continuously "freezing" their VST tracks, thus allowing them for more voices?

How many VSTi's can reasonably be loaded before problems occur (for a system like mine)

Here's a quick rundown of my system specs
    Athlon 2.2 gig processor
    1.5 gigs of Ram
    40 gig hard drive
    Delta-44 sound card
    Midisport-midiman 8X8 interface

Also, every time I run the ASIO simulation (upon opening the GPO Studio) my test fails
    " The current setup did not produce reliable sync information."
    …..But reading forums on the Cubase website I've been told this test was meaningless… is this true?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm at my wits end.. I've been trying countless combinations between Buffer sizes, sample rates, switching drivers,…etc.

Please,..PLEASE .. Someone extend a hand!!!

jeff

Re: .....completely Baffled!!!

Hi Jeff, I'm sorry I can't help, but someone will be here shortly to get you going.