• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Getting music published, distributors, and performance opportunities...help me!

Share/Bookmark

Getting music published, distributors, and performance opportunities...help me!

You know what? I'm a young composer who really wants to get something performed. I also want to be able to allow people all over the country to perform my music, however, I don't know how to go about doing this.

First of all, is writing the piece which I can do fine. Then it's a matter of getting a copy of the score and all the parts printed. Even that, is not too much of a problem. I could then go to many conductors and show them my work, and have them look at it. A problem starts to come into play here because most of the time conductors don't have the time to look at your score right on the spot, so they may require a couple of weeks, even a month or two to fully review the score and make a decision about performance. In the meantime, I would like to have other conductors look at my score as well, so I would have to print up more copies to give to other conductors. That's a lot of money because when I got my piano concerto printed out, it was 94 pages long, printed on US Tabloid paper, and costed me $20. Now I know that doesn't sound terribly expensive, but imagine printing up four or five copies of the score, and then you're not even guaranteed a performance at that.

I was thinking of a way to solve my problem...maybe I could send my music to a publisher. Would this solve my music distribution problems? I want my music out there, but I don't want to have to worry about going through all of the headache in doing so...it can't be this hard for everone

Re: Getting music published, distributors, and performance opportunities...help me!

Re: Getting music published, distributors, and performance opportunities...help me!