• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Need help finding the Best Rondo

Need help finding the Best Rondo

Hello fellow composers,

I'm currently a music student taking an analysis course, to which our next assignment is to analyze a piece in the form of a Rondo, and I have yet to gain enough music experience to weed through the masses of music and find a gem. Does anyone have any recommendations of good pieces in Rondo form?

Sure, I could go to my library and take the first book of Mozart piano pieces and find a Rondo that will fulfill the requirement, but if I'm going to be spending time analyzing a piece, I would love to gain some new insight into composition in the process. So I'm wondering if anyone can help narrow down or focus my search to "the best of the Rondo."

I know this is a weird question to ask, but I am very impressed with the quality of musicianship here and just had to post.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Re: Need help finding the Best Rondo

The last movement of the Beethoven Violin Concerto is a fine example of rondo form.

If you want something more modern, Berthold Goldschmidt wrote a stand alone work titled Rondo (that is, of course, in rondo form) which also happens to be for violin and orchestra.

Fur Elise is in rondo form (abaca)

Some ideas:

I love the Rondo in C minor for piano by Mozart. A beautiful piece, but might take long to analyze since it lasts around 10 minutes and lots of notes.

There is also a small rondo Beethoven wrote when he was very young that is worth looking at. It is such a wonderful and fun piece of music. It is called Rondo a Capriccio Op. 129 ("Rage Over a Lost Penny"). Evgeny Kissin has recorded a great version of this very difficult piece. Smile comes on the face of anyone who hears it.

Personnally, if I had to analyze a Rondo, I would probably go with one of these two.

And if you want to have a little fun, there's always the Blue Rondo a la Turk by Dave Brubeck Quartet.

Good luck!