• Register
  • Help

Topic: A few questions

Share/Bookmark

A few questions

Hi,

I'm new to GPO. I have been learning a lot, and this forum has been a great resource. I have searched the back posts, and still have a few questions.
    I am using Sibelius to trigger GPO - I don't have any other sequencer program, so I am trying to get the most out this setup.

1) The legato issue - I'm not a keyboard player, so entering via mod wheel and pedal is a problem. I have inserted ~C64,xx, and it seems make no difference. I even experimented with the pedal (realtime input), but again, nothing - perhaps it is how I am setting the instruments in GPO?

2) I understand that Overture is more fully integrated, and has more editing possibilities, but it will quite time consuming to re-enter all my scores. If I save Sibelius file as a MIDI file, can it be opened in Overture? I tried it, but the MIDI files were greyed out - unselectable.

3) Ambience - is there a place where I can find some documentation on using this? Again, I am coming at this from notation. I am learning a lot about MIDI messages, etc., but I haven't a clue as to what all the knobs in the Ambience window do. Any suggestions on where to look?

I'll stop for now. If anyone has any ideas for any of these questions, I'd be most grateful.

In advance, thanks.

Ron Pearl

Re: A few questions

#2 - What do you mean greyed out? They have to be imported into Overture. File, Import, then select the midi file. I know it works, but I can't be more specific since I'm here at work now.

#3 - This has been brought up before but I don't think it was ever addressed.