• Register
  • Help

Topic: Beginner's sampler recommendations

Share/Bookmark

Talking Beginner's sampler recommendations

I'm new at this, so I may sound stupid. Buuutt.. I have Acid Pro 4.0f, an Echo Gina 3G, and a Shure KSM27 mic, and I'd like to get started in recording into my PC with the mic, an electric guitar, and a keyboard controller. I don't really know about how I would record the guitar into the Gina with distortion (would I run the guitar to a pedal, then to the Gina?).

I also don't fully understand the way a keyboard controller will retrieve samples from the computer and play them. What software would I need to run to effectively use a keyboard controller? Acid allows for importing VSTi's, and the Gina 3G has a MIDI in and out.
    From what I understand, I would just plug the controller into the MIDI input of the Gina, then run software that would let me change the instrument the MIDI plays. Is there any specific bundle of samples or a certain sampling program that works best/has the most convenient layout?

I'd like a wide range of high-quality samples to play with. I'm really just starting out in the PC recording area, but I do play guitar and piano, and I'm eager to get this up and running! A friend referred me to Colossus Quantum Leap. It looks very cool and seems to be packed with alot of features, but I'm still unsure how to use it with Acid. Would I just Insert SoftSynth and select the Colossus?

Are there any other sampler/sample packs I should look into? I really liked some of the mp3 demos for Colossus, but I really just want to make some professional sounding music.

Thanks!
    Toby

Re: Beginner's sampler recommendations

This is a nice mag for starting out.

http://www.computermusic.co.uk/main.asp

At the top, click on the 'Basic' link. That should get you started.

Marty's link is an excellent start.