• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Looking for orchestral percussion samples: any suggestions?

Share/Bookmark

Looking for orchestral percussion samples: any suggestions?

Hello,

As you may have read in my other thread, I'm composing an hour of all original media music to be performed by a live ensemble for my senior recital concert at Cal State Northridge. (it will be sometime in spring 06, and if your interested pm me) In the mean time I'm composing my works with samples, to which I am currently using VSL Opus 1. I absolutely LOVE this library and its functionality in Logic with EXS, but its missing a real expansive percussion section (limited to just a few playing techniques on only common instruments). Since one of my pieces will be for Percussion/ Wind Ensemble (and I want the percussion to drive the piece) I need to find a relatively cheep (I am a poor college student after all) percussion lib to complement OPUS 1.

The logical choice would be the new OPUS 2 library, which does contain a few new percussion instruments (Marimba, Vibraphone, Bells, Waterphone) but once again they are limited to only a few playing techniques and mallet types. Also, its $500 for the lib, and it contains numerous sounds which I doubt I'd use that much (string runs, staccato reps, performance legato for low winds, etc). So I dont know if this is the best way to go.

I'm also looking into VSL Mallets, which seems to be very extensive and well priced lib for all that you get, but fear it might be overkill. Is there anything similar which is not limited to just Mallets? (I would like some more bell, gong, cymbal sounds too, though the real lack in OPUS 1 is mallets) What are you guys using for your percussion sounds?

Thank you in advance for all your help. I truly do appreciate it, and as payment for your help, I will treat you to a wonderful FREE concert at CSUN next year!

Thanks again,
    Jonathan Timpe