• Register
  • Help

Topic: Interface for GS3 (Newbie here)

Interface for GS3 (Newbie here)

Maybe its my age but I have a mental block about the relationship of the GS interface to the rest of my outside gear. Can someone explain what is necessary to link the GS workstation to the rest of the digital studio......in other words.....if I want to link the GS workstation digitallyto the digital console..........what interface do I need?

I have a Mackie d8b with ADAT optical interfaces connected to a hard disk recorder. I want to be able to have the ability to use all of the GS MIDI ports, and connect "digitally" to 24 channels simultaneously.

What kind of interface do I need to have access to the maximum number of channels? Do I need an interface with 24 digital (adat?) outputs? How about the number of MIDI ports?

Thans for your help.

Re: Interface for GS3 (Newbie here)

Hi Larry,

To feed 24-channels of audio from GS3 to your d8b. you would need a soundcard with 24-channels of ADAT outputs. GS3 has great mixing capabilities of its own, and you can automate the mixing controls with MIDI commands on Port1.

One thing to consider is that GigaPulse sounds great, but takes a lot of CPU power. Three or four instances of GigaPulse is about as far as you want to push most machines, and that means that you will want to pre-route your sounds into GigaPulse within the GS3 mixer. You would only want, say, three or four stereo (or surround) outputs. Okay, four 5.1 outputs is 24, so there you go...

For MIDI GS3 Orchestra accepts eight ports of MIDI. You can get a sound card with eight phyiscal ports, or you can use MIDIoverLAN to route MIDI from one computer to another.