• Register
  • Help

Topic: bosesndorfer 290, release question

Share/Bookmark

bosesndorfer 290, release question

I'm a newbie to this suff, so I am hoping this is a really silly question.

I have the bosendorfer 290, and am using the version of kompakt that comes with it.

Everything sounds great. Except one thing.

Playing a single note quickly. There is no release on it. It just cuts off.
    If I hold the note down, or if I am holding another note down, or pressing the sustain pedal, it sounds great.
    Just single note, no release.
    I've tried adjusting the the release in kompakt but it does't seem to change anything. I've tried hte long release sample too. Quick notes still cut off unnaturally.
    I have the latest updates , I think.
    Surely there is an easy answer?
    Thanks.

Re: bosesndorfer 290, release question

This is quite worrying. I'm about to buy the Bosendorfer. Anyone know what the problem could be?
    Tony

Quote Originally Posted by $$$

I have the bosendorfer 290, and am using the version of kompakt that comes with it.

If I hold the note down, or if I am holding another note down, or pressing the sustain pedal, it sounds great.
    I've tried adjusting the the release in kompakt but it does't seem to change anything. I've tried hte long release sample too. Quick notes still cut off unnaturally.
    Thanks.
    Try adjusting the MOD WHEEL.
    Melodialworks Music
    Music for Relaxation and Inspiration
    www.lawrencelougheed.com

I can see the modulation depth wheel move in kompakt, but the sound is still the same.

I use a yamaha clavinova 79 keyboard at the moment, weighted, 88 keys, feels like a piano, to drive my B290.

I'm not quite sure what you are experiencing, but the patch chosen for the B290 matters. I like best the one labeled "B290 Wet 16 Layer Rel", which I assume stands for Bosendorfer 290, Wet (reverb), 16 (velocity) layers (with) Release (trails)."

A quick stacatto note still has the expected sound.