• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: How do you attack scoring to picture?

Share/Bookmark

How do you attack scoring to picture?

What is your method to score to picture? I'm trying to learn and am using different techniques to get going.
    I'm just studying on my own, but I guess first you figure out where to put the music (with the directors requests).
    Then find a tempo for the scene?
    Do you write a melody that fits and then expand it? Play piano to picture? Set up a harmonic structure?

I've been told a couple of times that I'm not using melody very well. I wrote this piece as a transitional piece for a TV show (just practice). It was to be for something like "Revelations".

Then was critiqued that it lacked melody. I hear a melody, so I'm not understanding what kind of melody or how it should be used to be more of a melodic piece. Is it just too much harmony?

I'm talking about the part after the harp until the StormDrums.
    RevSceneX

But most importantly, how do you attack a scene?

Re: How do you attack scoring to picture?

I don't know the answer to this, having no experience. But I don't believe that there is an easy answer. I just purchased four books regarding this, from a bookstore in Studio City, CA.... but I haven't started reading them. And I don't believe that reading them will automatically make me a film composer. I think that one must need lots and lots of experience to get it right.

You do know, I imagine, about the upcoming 2-week intensive course in film music composing this summer in Seattle. I wish that I could attend! This is more expensive than the books and requires time off of work, but will give one at least some "experience" and hands on training.

David

Hey Chamber - I'm usually in the studio and don't get to read to deeply through-out this forum (good thing lately), could you give more info on that course in Seattle?

Hey rjames,