• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Plz Help Complete Noobie w/ GPO Reqs!

Question Plz Help Complete Noobie w/ GPO Reqs!

Hey guys I have been reading up and listening to the samples and I really want to buy GPO but I don't know if it will work on my aging computer.

I have a gateway 450 mhz, though I have its ram upgraded to around 450 mb, and only a few gig of disk space available.

By the sounds of it GPO requires at least 1 gig of ram and probably a few gig of processor speed but I wonder how accurate that is.

Is this kind of like 3d rendering where even a slow computer like mine could render the song, it would just take it longer, or would the program basically not even function correctly without a fast enough computer?

Thanks for taking the time to help out a noobie, I'll await your responses.

Re: Plz Help Complete Noobie w/ GPO Reqs!

What sequencer are you using?

I used an 800Mhz CPU, with 384Mbytes RAM, Windows ME and GPO with success. However, I could only load two instances, with 12-13 total instruments. I had RAM shortages before CPU problems. This was enough for me, but I did have to render tracks to audio and this is time consuming.

I'm sorry I'm not really that knowledgeable about what you're talking about, if by sequence you mean like sibelius, finale, etc, I have "Noteworthy Composer."

I have 450 mhz, 450 ram, with Windows 98.

What exactly do you mean by loading 2 "instances?"

Each instance had 6-7 instruments then you're saying?

Well for example an orchestral piece may require only a total of 12 or so parts so that would be sufficient would it not?

Also if you don't mind can you explain what you mean by having to render tracks to audio, do you mean making a midi track into .mp3 format?

Sorry for my noobieness, thanks for your help.