• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: I am going to learn to do it properly!!! ... a little advice please

Share/Bookmark

I am going to learn to do it properly!!! ... a little advice please

Hi there,

I have been composing music for over 10 years now. I am completely self taught but have managed to learn some music theory over the years (I can read music - but not sight-read - I have to learn it). I have produced some good music in that time - but limited music. My greatest musical love has been orchestral music - especially film music. Over the last 10 years we have come to the point where sample libraries and soft synths can produce some FANTASTIC sounding orchestral music. I listen to EWQLSO Platinum, VSL etc, and I think I would LOVE those sounds... but the realisation hit me the other day that if I had all of those sounds I could not use them! I discovered that what I really would love is to be able to write that level of music! So I am going to learn! I know it will take time but I want to learn properly... the theory and practice, to write and orchestrate as well as produce the MIDI performance.