• Register
  • Help

Topic: Slaving drives

Share/Bookmark

Slaving drives

I have two IBM drives one for gs and one for
    samples. I also have cd rom and zip disc in my computer each slaved to one of the hard drives.
    Is there some way I can configure my system so that nothing is slaved to the drive I am using for my .gig files?

Thanks,

Steve Fawcett

Re: Slaving drives

Steve, I don\'t know exactly how your system is set up, but I will describe my system to you. I\'m assuming you are using IDE drives?

I have two IDE channels in my computer, channel 0 and channel 1. On channel 0 I have my main HD as the master and my GIGS HD as the slave. On the channel 1 I have my DVD drive as the master and my CDRW as the slave.

I suggest keeping the CD drives on a different channel than the HD, especially if you have ATA-100 or other fast-bus HDs. Supposedly having a CD drive on the same IDE channel can reduce performance.

This is assuming your system has multiple IDE channels, which is pretty standard I believe. Trace the cable from the drives back to your motherboard--there should be two IDE cables coming off the board.

Hope this helps--I\'m not an expert at this as I was just figuring this stuff out earlier this week.

\"I have two IDE channels in my computer, channel 0 and channel 1. On channel 0 I have my main HD as the master and my GIGS HD as the slave. On the channel 1 I have my DVD drive as the master and my CDRW as the slave.\"

From what I understand you will get better performance if you have your main HD and your GIGS HD on separate channels. What happens with both drives on the same IDE channel is that only one drive gets access to the IDE channel at one time, so you can\'t read or write simultaneously to the 2 drives at once.