• Register
  • Help

Topic: The IRS is Big Brother

Share/Bookmark

The IRS is Big Brother

sponsored links

***Advertisments***
    I had the scare of my life yesterday.

As an overseas music teacher I don't have to pay Federal taxes, only State. However, I stupidly filled out the exclusion section wrong and they wrote me a letter back saying I owed $13,575 in Federal Taxes.

I promptly phoned them and explained my situation. They told me to re-file to correct the matter. I wanted to be sure I didn't mess up so I hired a consultant to re-file for me, and then sent my ammended return by DHL courier to the IRS.

About a month later, I recieved a very threatening letter saying "Pay Now!"

So I immediatly phoned and spoke to this idiotic woman who was rude and said they have not recieved my ammended return and that I should refile AGAIN! I was pretty upset, and demanded to talk to someone higher up the food chain, but she said this was not possible. I finally basically yelled at her to put me on the phone with someone for assistance. She put me on hold, and when she returned she said sheepishly, "Well, it can take up to 8 weeks for the processing. Don't worry, call back in a month."

The threatening letters stopped. I didn't hear anything back from them so I assumed things were sorted out.

Here is where it gets scary. After finding out that my Platinum Credit card had been suddenly cancelled, I looked on-line at my bank account and discoverd to my complete horror that the IRS had (without any warning) gone into two of my personal savings accounts and withdrawn $13,575!!!!

I was completely stunned. I died a death waiting until 8:00 AM when they would open. When I reached someone that morning, I demanded an explanation as to how they could take this action.