Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Apple/Intel - any wagers?

Share/Bookmark

Apple/Intel - any wagers?

sponsored links

***Advertisments***
    True or false?

http://news.com.com/Apple+to+ditch+I...?tag=nefd.lede

(I sure hope it's false, because it would mean a total replacement of everything.)

Re: Apple/Intel - any wagers?

Yes, Jobs is going to announce that they are working with Intel to come up with a 2-button mouse. They expect the transition to take no more than 2 years

Don't tell him I've been using one on my Macs for a couple of years.

Quote Originally Posted by Nick Batzdorf
    Don't tell him I've been using one on my Macs for a couple of years.
    Traitor!

:-)

Kind regards.

From what I understand, OS X can technicaly already run on Intel type processors, so I doubt you will have to scrap everything.
    I remain solely responsible for the content of my messages, and agree to indemnify and hold harmless northern sound source, and their agents with respect to any claim based upon transmission of my message(s). Rock on.

We had to update a fair amount of software just to go from 10.3.9 to 10.4. Believe me, we'll have to update everything.

This almost certainly won't be Pentium, by the way, it'll be whatever super-dooper chips Intel is making at the time. Pentiums wouldn't be as good as G5 chips, according to everything Apple has been saying for the past two years; even if that's not true, it would require a lot of PR backpedalling that nobody would buy.

On the other hand, chips should be easier to sell than wars, so what do I know.

Quote Originally Posted by Nick Batzdorf
    We had to update a fair amount of software just to go from 10.3.9 to 10.4. Believe me, we'll have to update everything.
    I think that's looking more likely at this point, althought tomorrow and the next few days will make things clearer in San Francisco I believe. Maybe this is to do with speed etc.