• Register
  • Help

Topic: Orchestral mixing with IRs - questions

Orchestral mixing with IRs - questions

I'm just getting into impulse reverbs using orchestral samples and I have a few questions.

In order to give each orchestral section a different stage location/reverb, do you need to run a separate instance of the impulse reverb for each section? Or can you set the stage position of each section in one instance of the IR plug-in (which I doubt)? Should you use different impulses for different sections of the orchestra or can you use the same impulse and just lengthen/shorten the response tail?

I use a generic reverb while composing orchestral music. Then I render each MIDI track to an audio file without any reverb. Then I create a new project, load in all the rendered audio files, apply the reverb, EQ, etc and mix it down.

Is it better to render the MIDI tracks to audio files WITH the IR reverb or is it better to apply the IR reverb during mixdown (after all the MIDI tracks have been rendered to audio files without reverb)? I'm kinda concerned about this because I downloaded the Voxeno Pristine IR plug-in. I'e got an Athlon 2400 with 1GB RAM and as soon as I loaded a 4th instance of Pristine, Cubase became extremely sluggish (and that's without any tracks loadeda at all). I tried this several times and it just seemed too much for my computer. I was also using Peter Roos demo impulses (which sound great btw!)

I think I'll be buying the Pristine IR plug-in since SIR is only mono-to-stereo.

Any advice on how to mix orchestral tracks using the Pristine IR plug-in in SX would be greatly appreciated. I searched all over this messageboard and a few other places, but I could quite find the answer.

Re: Orchestral mixing with IRs - questions