• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: My First Dumb Question

Share/Bookmark

Question My First Dumb Question

I've only had K2 for a week now and I've never used Kontakt before, so this will hopefully be an easy question for some of you more senior users of Kontakt. When adding a MIDI CC as a modulator, on the left side of the modulation router there are two numeric fields side by side, just to left of the bipolar intensity slider. The first one sets the CC number itself, but what does the second one control? It seems to accept values from minus 1 to plus 100. There doesn't seem to be anything in the manual about this parameter. What is it?
    Big Bob (aka Wonderful Bob)

Lightbulb Re: My First Dumb Question

Hey Guys,

I think I may have stumbled on a clue as to what parameter X does. I need more twiddling time to fully characterize it but, it seems to have something to do with internal controller initialization. Such as when X = 100, the CC is initialized to max and when X = 0, the CC is initialized to min, etc. Perhaps the -1 value is a special token used to mean something like initialize to 'last known' or some kind of default value.

I'll post again if and when I get it nailed down

Post Re: My First Dumb Question

Hi guys, regarding the mysterious parameter X (assuming anyone cares):

Here’s how I think it’s SUPPOSED to work. For each group using a given MIDI controller, ‘CCn’, apparently K2 maintains an internal variable ‘ccn’ to represent the last known value of CCn. The modulation behavior is then governed by the value of ccn which is updated each time a new MIDI value for CCn is received. However, when an instrument is first loaded and played (before any MIDI input is received for CCn), ccn has to be initialized to ‘something’. That ‘something’ is a value proportional to the setting of X. Something like:

ccn = X/100 * 127

So for example, if X is set to 50 (which probably means 50%), ccn will be initialized to 63 or 64.