• Register
  • Help

Topic: US-122 vs Echo Audio Indigo I/O

Share/Bookmark

US-122 vs Echo Audio Indigo I/O

Hello
    I am a newbie to Gigastudio, I have a compaq presario 900US with Win XP & 768MB ram laptop and tried GS3 with a borrowed US-428 and it seems to work fine for playing PMI grand piano sounds. The laptop only has one PCMCIA slot & two built in USB 1.1 Ports. The US-428 only works when I use a USB2 PCMCIA card.

I have a midisport 2x2 USB Midi I/F and just getting a Motu PC-flyer parallel port midi I/F

SO I am considering getting a US-122 USB Module or Echo Audio Indigo I/O
    pcmcia card , both a similar price.

I have seem people posting problematic comments about the US-122 on various forums.

Wonder if anyone here has first hand experience with either audio card and can make a recommendation?
    Many Thanks
    Stephen
    Last edited by drjazz1947; 06-16-2005 at 01:47 PM. Reason: spelling

Re: US-122 vs Echo Audio Indigo I/O

Have a US122 and no problems playing PMI or other pianos on my laptop where I use it for live performances. Works fine for me with either USB1.1 or 2.0 ports. Advantages are that it has phamtom mic inputs which are handy as well as a good gsif2 implementation which makes for great response when using its midi ports with GS3. But it doesn't do 96K, has no spidif, no w/c, and probably won't achieve the audio throughput of a cardbus audio card so you wouldn't want to use it for audio recording. But makes a good GS3 laptop piano/mic combo for live work.

Howard
    Ragtime Press

Quote Originally Posted by howardv