• Register
  • Help

Topic: Newbie with questions

Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Newbie with questions

Gigastudio 3 Orchestra is arriving in my mailbox tomorrow. I've been looking forward to it. This isn't a hobby for me, I intend on scoring films for the animation studio I'm working for which is in it's very early start-up phase, and has a staff of 2. So it's not like I have to produce anything tomorrow, but soon enough.

However I admit I'm a total newbie as far as apps like this goes. Up until now I've just played piano.

So, here's a few questions:

I'm getting GS3 Orchestra:
    • I've got a dedicated 160GB drive for GS3's samples separate from the application/operating system drive, will that be enough to handle all the samples that come with GS3 Orch? Should I go out and buy a 300GB+, because I intend to add some of the other sample libraries such as native american flutes, etc.
    • Can I load the sample banks spanning 2+ drives, or does GS3 insist on seeing all the sample banks on one drive?
    • I'm going to use my Roland RD700SX as a MIDI controller for GS3. However it was suggested I obtain an external control pad. I'm assuming that's meaning a multi-channel mixing device for mix-downs & recording that will control the virtual sliders and trimmer pots etc in GS3?
    • I will need a new sound card. I've been looking at M-Audio's 192 audiophile card. I don't plan on having more than two MIDI instruments connected, and a studio mic or two for dialog recording, and of course it has to support GSIF. I have an E-MU 0404, but E-MU's official position is they don't plan on supporting GSIF because GS3 is in direct competition with their Emulator X product. Does anyone have a good suggestion for an audio card to use with GS3 and Gigapulse that won't cost me over $300.00?