• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: VST GPO

Share/Bookmark

VST GPO

Hi, I use Sonar as a sequencer and based on recommendations from some of the forum members, I proceeded to rename the VST .dll file so that by using the VST adapter , to be able to open GPO also as a VST version along with the DXi. However, the VST version freezes when opened in Sonar or right afterwards. (The DXi works OK). Does anyone else have the same experience with this problem?
    Thanks

Re: VST GPO

I've never tried this myself, but did you make sure to re-run the Adapter registration utility *after* the rename?

- m
    Free MFX and other plugins: http://www.TenCrazy.com/
    Markleford's music: http://www.markleford.com/music/

Quote Originally Posted by Markleford
    I've never tried this myself, but did you make sure to re-run the Adapter registration utility *after* the rename?

- m

I didn't have to re-run because I've never used the VST version before so after the rename I ran the VST adapter. Thanks for the response

I'm not sure what you're referring to when you say "rename". Did you rename the dxi plug-in file? If so, then that would be your problem. The VST and dxi plug-ins are distinctly different files that are installed when you install GPO - you can choose one or the other, or both.

There are renaming options after you have installed your VST plug-ins. This allows you to make a copy of the dll file, rename it "VST2". Doing this allows you to use VST Instrument 1 to play instruments where legato is controlled via pedal - and VST Instrument 2 can then be used to play piano, which uses the pedal for sustain and requires a different setting. Maybe this is what you read and misunderstood?

Quote Originally Posted by boten