• Register
  • Help

Topic: Totally New to soft samplers

Share/Bookmark

Totally New to soft samplers

Hi folks. I am far from new to playing music but I'm new to soft samplers. First I was battling trying to figure out whether to invest in a DAW for Gigastudio 3 or for Kontakt. I will be buying a very high end DAW (around $3k). I couldn't find any kind of demo for Gigastudio 3 but I ran across the demo for Kontakt 2 so I downloaded it and installed it on my regular household PC. It's not set up for music stuff. It's only 933Mhz, only has 512Mb of DDR ram, and doesn't have an ASIO compatible sound card. But I figured I could still play around and see what I think of the product. I am going to connect one of my old Korg T2's to the PC but in the interim, I tried using the internal virtual piano which seems supported. Here's the problem. I can't get any sounds to sound correct. All I get are garbled out of space sounding stuff every time I try to use a sound. I have tried everything in the demo multisound and I haven't been able to get one real sound out. Can someone tell me what I might be doing wrong. I get sound, it's just not like anything it's supposed to be. Doesn't give me much chance to see how it works. All help will be greatly appreciated.

Also, any comments that might help me resolve the Gigastudio 3 vs Kontakt 2 dilemma would also be greatly appreciated. I have read lots of forums about both and as I would have expected, it seems some people won't use anything but Gigastudio and some people think it stinks compared to Kontakt. One of the reasons I was leaning towards Kontakt was because it says it can import lots of different sample formats. Giga file would be one I would be very interested in. But from reading things on this forum, it looks like maybe Kontakt 2 doesn't live up to it's claims about being so good importing other formats.