• Register
  • Help

Topic: Newbie Piano Piece

Smile Newbie Piano Piece

Hi everyone!

Although I have been actively reading the Garritan forums for roughly two years now I haven't really participated in any discussions yet. This group buy was an excellent opportunity for me to purchase this wonderful tool and now I'm glad to have it finally!

Actually, I did receive my copy a week ago and I probably would have installed it earlier to my computer, but I had the joy to welcome our new born daughter into the world a week ago so I really haven't had any time too fool around the computer Our first child, so we're absolutely overwhelmed with happiness!

But few days before this happy event I managed to finish my first piano piece ever. I don't have any formal training in composing music, but I have been playing piano for 20+ years along with various other instruments when I get my hands on them. So now that I got GPO I just had to try how the piece would sound with the Steinway! If anyone would be interested in listening to the piece it can be found from:

It's a simple piece built upon a phrase in F-dorian scale. The name 'Portaikko' is Finnish and means 'Staircase'. I guess it was the first thing that came to my mind about the theme...

Any comments and criticism is welcome! I'm so happy to join the community here and thank you Gary for this wonderful tool!

You can tune a piano, but you can't tuna fish

Thumbs up Re: Newbie Piano Piece

It should be the natural sequel of your nice work for piano, to add some orchestral accompainement.

Or you have some orchestral work ready to render?

Anyway....W E L C O M E !

Thumbs up Re: Newbie Piano Piece

I like this piece, Juhani.
    It is really inspired.
    Welcome to the forum.
    Hoping to hear more of your music,
    best regards,

Re: Newbie Piano Piece

WOW! For someone with no "formal" training, You sure have a finely crafted piece here!