• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: OT: New mixer...digital? Low noise?

OT: New mixer...digital? Low noise?

Hi... I need a larger mixer, so I thought I might ask for some advice. I have a few overcomable problems with my old mixer (a cheap Eurorack 1202):
    a) Some slight noise which gets enhanced when I normalize and compress my music
    b) records at quite low volume, which enhances the above problem (this might be due to my soundcards - intenal M-Audio audiophile 24/96)

Now I figured I might aswell minimize those problems when buying my new mixer... So any suggestions? The new mixer needs to have atleast 6 stereo inputs, but I would not mind 8. I'm considering if I should use the digital cables, in which case I need a special mixer right? I'm really a mixer newbie, so be gentle

Re: OT: New mixer...digital? Low noise?

Are you running your mixes through that Behringer mixer? or is it for monitoring purposes only? If you're running your mixes through it it would first go through your soundcard's digital to analog converters, which would degrade the sound. Then, once it goes thru the Behringer circuitry it would degrade the sound even more!

What's the budget Marcussen?

yeah... i'm running a ~~~~ty setup i'm sure. SO help in all regards would be great. Here is a rundown:

Sound from computers go into Mixer to turn the sound into one output. This sound goes into my main daw where its recorded when I'm done. This output also goes back into the mixer and out to my monitors.

crap I know... all this is analogue :-/

[edit] Well... Budget. I would say around $1000... Double that if its really needed. I guess the cheapest it can be done for. The less the better obviously... in other words I dont want to spend more than I need, but I dont want another crappy solution

Hi Christian,