• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: With this budget, what should I purchase?

With this budget, what should I purchase?

Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to the sampled strings world. I'm a studying composition major and would like to get into creating mock scores once I put my portfolio together. I am currently working with a budget of about $1600. When all is said and purchased, I would like to have the capabilities of manipulating all aspects of a full orchestra along with individual instruments (especially the stringed ones). I have checked out the garritan libraries as well as the Vienna stuff and would like to stick to these labels.

I am thinking about purchasing the Vienna Opus 1 (mainly for the non strings sounds) as well as the Garritan Orchestra Strings.I've also toyed with the idea of getting the Opus bundle and the Vienna Solo strings, but I love the Maestro Tools feature of the GOS. What would be the best combination? Any other suggestions? And this may sound asinine, but I can use both simultaneously in Giga? Another potentially naive question, but can I use either as a plug-in in a Pro Tools session?

I appreciate the time and help guys.

Re: With this budget, what should I purchase?

Sonic Implants Strings !

Kauai, Hawaii, USA

Talking Re: With this budget, what should I purchase?

Hi, Cap - -

You don't mention if you have a Sequencer yet. Or a high-quality sound card (or sound box). If it's only samples, $1600 should get your started nicely. Besides the VSL packages, I'd also look at EWQLSO/Gold right now as they are having a half-price sale (not sure when it ends). GPO is certainly a good all-around package, but you should definitely consider Gold as an add-on.

my $0.02 ... KevinKauai

I highly recommend waiting for GPO Advanced to be released, hopefully soon!
    It will have not only a very beauutiful "easy to use" version of GOS in it, AND