• Register
  • Help

Topic: Trilogy questions?

Trilogy questions?

I am very impressed by bass sounds in the Trilogy demo's using a keyboard. I use a GR-50 guitar synth on my Stratocaster. How will Trilogy sound using a guitar synth? Any limitations? I also use Band-In-A-Box to compose bass lines in songs I write. I transfer the midi file to Digital Performer and assign a virtual instrument. Has anyone else ever done this with Trilogy?

I am a bluegrass songwriter and I want to use the acoustic bass sounds in Trilogy along with my real acoustic instruments - but I don't play keyboards.

Equipment: Mac G5 dual 1.8, OSX 10.3.9, DP4.6, Roland GR-50 Guitar Synth.

I was close to buying MachFive when I was directed to this forum by someone at Unicornation. I am intrigued by Trilogy and I am a novice at virtual instruments so any help/advice/comments are greatly appreciated.

Nice forum, by the way.

Re: Trilogy questions?

Yeah..actually, some of the guys who create the demos for Spectrasonics work that way with Trilogy and Guitar controllers (Patrick de Caumette and Larry Mitchell) and they get awesome results that often sound much better than what is possible controlling Trilogy from a keyboard.

Thanks for the reply.

Using a guitar controller, how do you go between the sustain and the staccato notes? This technique on your video demo using a keyboard was very impressive and natural sounding. I can't imagine the technique on a guitar controller trying to play 3 octaves up for a staccato note. I would be interested in knowing how Patrick de Caumette and Larry Mitchell accomplish this. Is it just a matter of technique and lots of practice?

You wouldn't use those patches for live playing from your GR-50.

You'd use one of the full range patches and then edit the notes if you felt like it was needed. True Staccato was created more for keyboardists to be able to approach was it's more natural to do on a Guitar or Bass instrument.

OK, I get it.