• Register
  • Help

Topic: Question about GPO samples

Question about GPO samples

Hi everybody!

I know that I don't post much. I'm still learning the ropes of orchestration, MIDI, etc.

Anyway, I have fallen in love with Reason 3.0. It is the most stable, reliable and CPU-friendly software out there. After getting used to it's virtual rack interface, I can't go back to buggy or CPU-hoggish music software.

I wan't to make a Reason Refill out of GPO samples (personal use only, nothing illegal). Has any of you ever attempted such a thing?

As you may know, Reason does not support third party plugins (VST, Dxi). And Reason doesn't seem to recognize whatever the GPO format happens to be (???)

Any help would be appreciated!

Re: Question about GPO samples

Hi SWardle,
    I know there's a tool for converting sampler formats into another. It's called Chicken Systems Translator. There is a section for it in this forums. In their website, it says it can convert from Kontakt to Reason's NN XT sampler, but with some limitations. This is from their page:

NI Kontakt to Propellerhead Reason NN XT

This translation is only available on the Windows version; it will be available on the Mac version shortly.

KeySwitching and Release Trigger Support
    This destination format does not support keyswitching, which is a function where pressing a non-sounding key (or a Patch Select in the case of Ensoniq) instructs the sampler engine to switch what samples play on what key. This source format supports it.

Translator will take each keyswitch variation and make a seperate instrument out of it.

Likewise, although this source format supports other similar features such as release trigger samples, samples manipulated by the sustain pedal, etc., this destination does not, and thus are omitted from the destination format. This is insures at least a playable converted file.

I think it lacks some the main features of GPO, so it won't work as in the GPO player.