• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Greetings

Share/Bookmark

Greetings

Well, maybe I was a bit blunt with my first post. I am new here, but have had my Giga gear for a while. I am hoping to meet some interesting and moldable folks, and look forward to exchanging ideas with everyone here. I have been a professional film composer for about 10 years now, but I am not exactly in the hotbed of the film world up in Northern Wisconsin. What the heck, I like the atmosphere and real estate is still cheap.

So, any ideas on this RAID issue?

I have two GigaStudio systems.
    One on a Abit BF6 PIII 700 MHz 374Meg RAM(Soundchaser build)
    The other a recent home build Abit KG7-RAID (two Maxtor 40G as RAID 0) Athlon 1.2G 1Gig RAM.

PIII 700 is fine

I am having trouble with Giga Piano on the Athlon 1.2G RAID. On sustained notes, I get multiple attacks while the note is sustaining.
    It\'s like the notes are looping back to the attack portion of the waveform.
    Other samples seem to be OK,but I haven\'t done any real scoring yet.

Any hints?

------------------
    Bruce Bowers
    Hungry Hill

Re: Greetings

I was always under the impression that Raid 0 added redundancy, but slightly degraded performance. I Think Raid 5 (requiring 3 drives) improves performance.

HI Bill,

Thanks for the response.
    RAID 0 uses 2 striped drives to split the data flow between two drives that act as one. It should speed up total throughput on read and write, but does not neccessarily change access time which is critical for GSt. I have the RAID for video throughput on the same machine. It probably doesn\'t help GigaStudio, but I assumed it would not hurt. I have seen posts from folks that have successful RAID systems, but not the one I have.

Anyone?

------------------
    Bruce Bowers
    Hungry Hill

Hey Bruce,