• Register
  • Help

Topic: My First GPO MP3

Share/Bookmark

My First GPO MP3

Some of you may have seen some of my posts at "General" and "Technical"--I'm new to GPO and have been struggling to get it up and working with my system.

My BIG MISTAKE was trying to use GPO Studio through my "ancient" Cakewalk Pro Audio 9 sequencing program. Nightmare. It's a pre-VST sequencer, for one thing.

Now I'm getting to understand Cubase LE, with which GPO works seamlessly. What a relief--Still a Huge job ahead of me, with some more learning curve to tackle AND because what I'm trying to do is re-record 2 hours of original music I've written for a theatre musical. Trying to convert existing MIDI files can be so convoluted!--as you all probably know.

Here's an MP3 of my first GPO test.

http://www.flipdrive.com/download.php?file_id=2969&code=479c46342783ec82a46 ef545a7c37a1b&show

It's the opening "Prelude" to the dramatic musical I've written---for now, not mentioning the title. But it's set in Victorian England. In this opening are snatches of some of the show's themes, then it becomes a chorus number which takes place in a London street.

Lots of colla voce in this--Once I've dubbed the singers on it, I'll thin out the colla if it's conflicting.

Not a "pure" GPO piece, which you'll hear for yourself after the first second. The instrument lay out isn't traditional---I was glad to read Dan Kury's good "Audio Mixing Tutorial" on the GPO front page, which validated a wish I already had--to not feel obligated to retain the traditional orchestral set up. 2nd violins are on the right, facing the 1st section, and the Contra Basses are almost center.

A quartet is out front in front of the orchestra--piano, bass, drums and guitar--from my Korg X5dr module, except the piano which is of course the GPO Steinway.