• Register
  • Help

Topic: Using Miraslav with Sibelius

Smile Using Miraslav with Sibelius

Does anybody out there have any experience with or knowledge about using the Miraslav V. sound package (the new Philharmonik one) with Sibelius? Is it even possible? And if so, how difficiult is it? I think Miroslav's samples sound better than the GPO samples, which are about to be relased for Sibelius 4. Unless it is a practical impossibilty (since I am not very mechanically minded), I would like to find a way of using Miroslav with Sibelius, which I already own. Of course, if anyone has an alternative suggestion, feel free to say so, as I have very little experience in this area and am not familiar with all the systems and options. Thanks, Plutarch

Brooklyn, NY

Re: Using Miraslav with Sibelius

Quite frankly, I don't think there's any way you could use it with Sibelius. Usually, you could get Maple Midi connector or Midi Yoke which would sit "in between" Sibelius and your library of choice running in stand-alone mode. However, Philharmonik does not have a stand-alone mode and can only run as a VST instrument within a host program like a sequencer. If you're interested in using Philharmonik with a notation package, you should definitely explore the possibility of using Overture 4 which allows you to run any VST instrument or combination of instruments as its sound source. It's the only notation package that I know of that can at the moment. Good luck.

Thanks! I'll check out Overture. Since I posted the above message, I have heard the Kirk Hunter demos, which are excellent. Hopefully there will be a way to use them with Overture.

Couldn't you do this using Steinberg's V-Stack? (I don't have it, so I'm not positive)