• Register
  • Help

Topic: Too Many Crashes

Share/Bookmark

Too Many Crashes

I'm a TV composer with several shows on the air. I've owned two GigaStudios for a couple of years or so. I now have V.3 (Last updated in August '05).

I'm angry, fed up & frustrated. Either one or the other of my Gigas has been crashing every couple of weeks. It happened with V.2 & now it's happening with V.3. I'm losing $1,000's of dollars worth of work, and embarassing myself with my furious clients. This can't go on.

I'm working with midi/tech guys who have years of experience & who work for the top composers in LA. They say, "Well, that's Giga for you." I have
    several composer friends who use Gigastudios and they don't have these problems with the same frequency and severity that I do.

When I call Tascam itself, I'm put on endless hold, or told that the person I need to speak with is not in. Now I've heard that the Giga project manager
    at Tascam just quit.

I've been composing & recording for 40 years, on bona fide high profile projects. I'm a professional, well-respected in my field. I have a family to support. I get paid per minute of music, and these machines are really hanging me up and slowing me down. I feel like I have no recourse! Am I
    supposed to just accept this?

I've heard that Tascam tech support people read this forum. Will someone
    please help?!!!

Ralph Schuckett

Re: Too Many Crashes

I was in the same boat as you're in for the past 2 years.

About 2 months ago, I finally kicked giga to the curb and picked up Kontakt. I really wanted to stay committed to giga, but I now have no interest in switching back.

Giga was very frustrating...and i encountered the same problems on 3 different machines.

Kontakt is not without it's quirks, but at least I kissed the BSOD goodbye!

Hey Ralph,

Gigastudio can be very stable espacially if you run it on a dedicated pc.
    If you do so, the first thing would be to check if you have the 3.04 or 3.12 version.