• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Can't get MIDI into GS3 via MOL

Share/Bookmark

Exclamation Can't get MIDI into GS3 via MOL

Hello,

I am fairly new to Gigastudio, and Windows PCs. I am trying to get a MIDI signal into GS3 via MIDIOverLanCP. My signal is coming out of my Mac and into my PC. I seem to have set up MOLCP correctly because the light flashes in the MOLCP Monitor (in both PC and Mac) whenever I hit a key on my keyboard (which is connected to the Mac).

However, I cannot seem to get anything into GS3. I have selected 'NETPORT 1' for 'MIDI In Port 1' in GS3. The channel and port setting in Cubase on my Mac are set to output on the same port and channel.

In order to test the MIDI, I have also connected MIDI lead directly from my Mac (Midex8) to the MIDI in of the RME HDSP9652 interface of my PC. I can get a signal into GS3 if I select 'HDSP MIDI In1 (1)'. However, if I select the 'HDSP MIDI In 1 [GSIF low-latency]' Ports I cannot get a signal there either (with the correct Midex8 port assigned in Cubase).

I have also been using the VSL Performance Tool, but the problem exists whether I have the PT application running or not. So that can't be an issue. At the moment I'm not running PT, so I can concentrate on getting a signal from MOLCP into GS3.

The corresponding MIDI ports in GS3's MIDI Port Display are green, but do not flash red when I play the keyboard. Port 1 only flashing red when receiving a MIDI signal through the MIDI cable as described above.

If anyone can spare a moment to help me out I'd be really grateful, as nothing I have tried seems to work. I'm started go go bald through constant hair pulling!

Cheers,
    Mobius.

Re: Can't get MIDI into GS3 via MOL

There is a free utility called MIDI-OX ( http://www.midiox.com/ ) that monitors all your MIDI ports, which is very usfull for trouble shooting.